Skip to content

Port Angeles Community Awards Gala 2022

  • Share:
Name: Port Angeles Community Awards Gala 2022
Date: January 28, 2023 - February 6, 2023
Registration: Register Now
Event Description:

Thanks to all who helped celebrate these awards with our Incredible Community! All of the finalists are deserving of our thanks and recognition.

The Community Awards Gala is an elegant evening  featuring a plated dinner, signature cocktails, and an inspiring awards program where we recognize the brightest stars in our community. 

The gala includes a pre-show reception with Signature cocktails, champagne, and hors d'oeuvres. Dinner is a plated meal with the entrée of your choice, followed by the awards show, where all the finalists will be celebrated and the winner from each category will be announced. After dinner, please join us at the After Party for sweet treats, signature cocktails, and photos. This is your chance to mingle with the honorees of the evening! 

For information on the Awards themselves, see below.

All profit for this event will go toward the continuation and expansion of the Community Awards program, in keeping with the Chamber's goals of community-building and fostering economic development.

Doors will open at 5:30 pm


Hors d'oeuvres
Vegetable Cocktail Spring Rolls with Sweet Chili Sauce
Dungeness Crab Stuffed Mushroom Caps with Saffron Aioli
Strawberry Bruschetta with Goat Cheese on Crostini
Bacon Wrapped Jalapeños Served hot, stuffed with cream cheese and topped with red pepper coulis
Choice of Parmesan Crusted Chicken Cordon Bleu, White Truffle Fettucine, or Crispy Garlic and Vegetable Quinoa Cakes in a rustic tomato sauce (GF)
The Chamber's Signature handmade truffles in a variety of flavors, hand-crafted by Gina Senz. Boxed to take with you, or enjoy them after your meal

The Awards are presented in the following categories:

Citizen of the Year - An individual who has made a positive impact on the health or prosperity of the community, including a legacy of good works and specifically during the past year.
Young Leader of the Year:  Awarded to an individual, age 18-39, who exemplifies a commitment to the health and future of our community, and has made an impact during the past year beyond the responsibilities and expectations of their job.
Educator of the Year:  Recognizes a teacher, coach, or educational staff member employed by the Port Angeles School District or a private school in Port Angeles, who has exhibited impressive leadership and achieved exceptional results toward the overall development of youth in grade levels K-12.
Business of the Year:  Awarded to the business, large or small, that has shown consistent excellence as an employer, contributed to the community beyond the profit motive of the business, and has been a recognized contributor over the past year to the general prosperity and well-being of our community. 
Emerging Business of the Year:  Awarded to a business that has been operating between one and six years, or has been significantly reinvented with a major location change and/or business expansion within that time. Emerging Business should fill a significantly unmet need or market, revitalize an area, or contribute altruistically beyond the mission or profit motive of the business (The time frame for this category criteria has been temporarily changed to account for the affect that the pandemic has had on emerging businesses).
Organization of the Year:  Recognizes the non-profit, church, agency, or community service organization that has demonstrated an exceptional achievement of its mission, consistently improving quality of life in our community over the past year.

Past Honorees Are:

Citizen of the Year

2017  Marsha Robin, Reath Ellefson, Tim Mason/Amber Keebler
2018  Amy Miller, Susan Hillgren, Iris Winslow
2019  Norma Turner, John Brewer, Christine Loewe
2020 Steve Deutermann, Dr. Allison Berry, Patty Pastore
2021 Steve Methner, Fran Howell, Minnie Whalen

Educator of the Year
2017  Ron Jones                   Cindy Crumb, John Gallagher
2018  Claire Rausch              Phil Morgan-Ellis, Christine Bohman
2019  Doug Gailey               Gary Pringle,  Krista Winn
2020  Dan Cobb                   Tiffany Gillespie, Kasey Ulin
2021  Angie Gooding          Dwayne Johnson, Jeff Lunt

Young Leader of the Year
2017  Lindsay Fox                 Bonnie Schmidt, Brianna Kelly
2018  Victoria Jones             Bonnie Schmidt, Shenna Younger
2019  Addison Holland        Ashley Liberty, Lacey Fry
2020  Chelsea Winfield        Jeremy Gilchrist, Dylan Godsey
2021  Luke Gavin                Carmen Geyer, Tyler Johnson

Business of the Year
2017  Lakeside Industries    Black Ball Ferry, Wilder Auto
2018  Hermann Brothers     Lakeside Industries, Lumber Traders
2019  Angeles Electric          First Federal,  Swains General Store
2020  Lumber Traders          Little Devil's Lunchbox, PNW Mobile Detailing
2021  7 Cedars Resort         Grocery Outlet, Port Book & News

Organization of the Year
2017 OMC                           The Answer for Youth, United Way of Clallam County
2018 JFFA                             Lincoln Park BMX, Volunteers in Medicine of the Olympics
2019 PA Food Bank             Port Angeles Fine Arts Center, Lincoln Park BMX
2020 Clallam County EDC  Habitat for Humanity of Clallam County, Port Angeles Police Department
2021 Lincoln Park BMX       Clallam County Sheriff Dept., North Olympic Library System

Emerging Business of the Year
2017 Lefties Baseball          Olympic Peninsula Massage, BADA NW
2018 Amma's Umma           Avail Fit, Poser Yoga
2019 Studio 360                  Heart & Passion Films, Diehl?s Do it All
2020 Fogtown Coffee         Ridgeline Homecare Cooperative, Sasquatch Bakery
2021 Port Angeles Wharf  Sisters & Co.,  Sisterland Farms

Legacy Awards are special awards that are selected by the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors for a legacy of outstanding contribution to our community

Chamber Individual Legacy Award 
2019 Jim Moran
2020 Ed Bedford
2021 Dan Wilder, Sr

Chamber Organizational Legacy Award
2019  Black Ball Ferry
2020  Swain's General Store
2021   First Federal

Event Media:
Vern Burton Community Center
Date/Time Information:
Doors open at 5:30 pm
Contact Information:
Leslie Robertson
Individuals $75
Table of eight $550