Skip to content

2023 Port Angeles Community Awards Gala

  • Share:
Name: 2023 Port Angeles Community Awards Gala
Date: February 3, 2024
Time: 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM PST
Registration: Register Now
Event Description:
The 2023 Port Angeles Community Awards Gala
A Huge Thank You to our Sponsors!

Award Sponsor

Finalist Sponsor

Finalists Reception


After Party        


Table Sponsors

Saturday, Feb. 3rd, 2024  6:00 pm

Field Arts & Events Hall

Join us for an elegant, plated dinner and program recognizing some of the best and brightest stars of our community. This year, the Gala will be at the gorgeous new Field Arts and Events Hall on the Port Angeles Waterfront

This inspiring evening gives us the chance to honor all of the finalists and announce the winners in the following categories:

Organization of the Year
Emerging Business of the Year
Business of the Year
Educator of the Year
Young Leader of the Year
Citizen of the Year

All of this year's finalists will be honored at the Gala

Single Ticket - $100
Standard Table for Eight - $750
Gold Table for Eight - $900

Gold Tables are premium tables in the first two rows. Gold tables feature sponsor name/logo prominently at the table; Sponsor name listed on signage at the event, in the awards slide show, and in the event program)


For more sponsorship inquiries, or to receive our sponsor deck, please email Leslie at

This year the awards gala features a unique dining experience with an elevated Menu from Little Devil's Lunchbox, created especially for the Community Awards.


  • Twice-baked Sweet Potato with Mexican spices and Queso Fresco, topped with microgreens and toasted pumpkin seeds  and accompanied with *green chile and cilantro-lime rice (Vegetarian)
  • Chicken thigh & leg in savory mole sauce, accompanied by cilantro-lime rice with green chiles, smoked peppers, onions, and shaved brussels sprouts
  • Seafood medley finished tamale-style in a corn husk, accompanied by cilantro-lime rice with green chiles, smoked peppers, onions, and shaved brussels sprouts

* Cilantro-free option upon request. Please note that the menu may change slightly based on supply chain. Any dietary restrictions or allergies should be specified in the comments

New This Year!

Finalists Reception

An invitation-only VIP reception for Finalists and Sponsors, at Foghorn Olive Oil just steps away from the Gala venue. Guests can enjoy beer, wine, and soft drinks as they mingle with the finalists and socialize before the big event.

After Party in the Mood Room!

The mood for the night will be Celebration, and we've got the perfect place to keep that mood going! All gala guests are invited to join us at The Mood Room (next door to Moss Boutique) just two blocks from the Gala. This beautiful, welcoming space is the perfect venue to continue our celebration of this year's amazing finalists. Our bartenders for the evening will be special guests, The Robertson Girls! Annie and Lily will be taking care of you at the no-host bar, serving signature Cocktails (and Mocktails) created especially for the Gala by Bar Ventures.  Soft drinks, beer, and wine will also be available, and rumor has it there might even be some trivia! The After Party is an all-ages private party for Gala guests, and we can't wait to see you there!

The Awards are presented in the following categories:

Citizen of the Year - An individual who has made a positive impact on the health or prosperity of the community, including a legacy of good works and specifically during the past year.

Young Leader of the Year:  Awarded to an individual, age 18-39, who exemplifies a commitment to the health and future of our community, and has made an impact during the past year beyond the responsibilities and expectations of their job.
Educator of the Year:  Recognizes a teacher, coach, or educational staff member employed by the Port Angeles School District or a private school in Port Angeles, who has exhibited impressive leadership and achieved exceptional results toward the overall development of youth in grade levels K-12.
Business of the Year:  Awarded to the business, large or small, that has shown consistent excellence as an employer, contributed to the community beyond the profit motive of the business, and has been a recognized contributor over the past year to the general prosperity and well-being of our community. 
Emerging Business of the Year:  Awarded to a business that has been operating less than three years, or has been significantly reinvented with a major location change and/or business expansion within that time. Emerging Business should fill a significantly unmet need or market, revitalize an area, or contribute altruistically beyond the mission or profit motive of the business (The time frame for this category criteria has been temporarily changed to account for the affect that the pandemic has had on emerging businesses).
Organization of the Year:  Recognizes the non-profit, church, agency, or community service organization that has demonstrated an exceptional achievement of its mission, consistently improving quality of life in our community over the past year.

Past Honorees Are:
Citizen of the Year
2017  Marsha Robin, Reath Ellefson, Tim Mason/Amber Keebler
2018  Amy Miller, Susan Hillgren, Iris Winslow
2019  Norma Turner, John Brewer, Christine Loewe
2020 Steve Deutermann, Dr. Allison Berry, Patty Pastore
2021 Steve Methner, Fran Howell, Minnie Whalen
2022 Dr. Jerry Stephanz, Carmen Geyer, Tim Crowley

Educator of the Year
2017  Ron Jones, Cindy Crumb, John Gallagher
2018  Claire Rausch, Phil Morgan-Ellis, Christine Bohman
2019  Doug Gailey, Gary Pringle,  Krista Winn
2020  Dan Cobb, Tiffany Gillespie, Kasey Ulin
2021  Angie Gooding, Dwayne Johnson, Jeff Lunt
2022 John Gallagher, John Lorentzen, Crystal Bennett

Young Leader of the Year
2017  Lindsay Fox, Bonnie Schmidt, Brianna Kelly
2018  Victoria Jones, Bonnie Schmidt, Shenna Younger
2019  Addison Holland, Ashley Liberty, Lacey Fry
2020  Chelsea Winfield, Jeremy Gilchrist, Dylan Godsey
2021  Luke Gavin, Carmen Geyer, Tyler Johnson
2022 Tommy Farris, Christy Cox, Sarah Tiemersma-Strid

Business of the Year
2017  Lakeside Industries, Black Ball Ferry, Wilder Auto
2018  Hermann Brothers, Lakeside Industries, Lumber Traders
2019  Angeles Electric, First Federal,  Swains General Store
2020  Lumber Traders, Little Devil's Lunchbox, PNW Mobile Detailing
2021  7 Cedars Resort, Grocery Outlet, Port Book & News
2022 Moss, Port Book & News, The Ballet Workshop

Organization of the Year
2017 OMC, The Answer for Youth, United Way of Clallam County
2018 JFFA, Lincoln Park BMX, Volunteers in Medicine of the Olympics
2019 PA Food Bank, Port Angeles Fine Arts Center, Lincoln Park BMX
2020 Clallam County EDC, Habitat for Humanity of Clallam County, Port Angeles Police Dept.
2021 Lincoln Park BMX, Clallam County Sheriff Dept., North Olympic Library System
2022 4PA, Boys and Girls Club, Hurricane Ridge Winter Sports Club

Emerging Business of the Year
Lefties Baseball, Olympic Peninsula Massage, BADA NW
2018 Amma's Umma, Avail Fit, Poser Yoga
2019 Studio 360, Heart & Passion Films, Diehl's Do it All
2020 Fogtown Coffee, Ridgeline Homecare Cooperative, Sasquatch Bakery
2021 Port Angeles Wharf, Sisters & Co., Sisterland Farms
2022 Welly's Real Fruit Ice Cream, Rebel Hear Coffee, Buena Luz Bakery


At the stunning new Field Arts and Events Hall
Date/Time Information:
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Doors open at 5:30

Contact Information:
Leslie Robertson
Individual $100
Standard Table $750
Gold/Sponsor Table $900